Nymphicus Hollandicus

This morning we went out to see the Old Telegraph Station which is located a couple of kilometres out of Alice Springs.  It's situated right next to the Todd River and there are wonderful grassy areas under the gum trees where people can picnic and generally relax.  I'm going to confess that I left the viewing of the buildings to Mauzee because I was absolutely fascinated by the birdlife.  One one tree alone I found three nests in the hollows of branches all being tended to by different bird varieties.  I have posted our favourite tonight.  It's three beautiful Cockatiels and you will see the youngster in the foreground.  Once again I have only ever seen these birds in a cage!!!  My extra is of the baby budgie being fed by its mothers.  At the top of the tree were two galahs tending their young in a hollow.  It was an extraordinary site and I think I took around 300 images.  It's taken me ages to go through them.  I've run out of steam so these are my two for today.  We will definitely be revisiting the Telegraph Station as it has such an interesting history.  
When we arrived back at the Showgrounds and found our camp site we found ourselves surrounded by caravans.  I have to admit there is a great atmosphere here tonight and the excitement is building for the big race on Sunday.  I think we might hot foot it out of town very soon and escape the masses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.