Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

It was a lovely day in the low 80s, a nice break from the last 6 days in the 90s!  I tried to follow the Lobo (Longmont to Boulder) trail again.  It's very poorly marked so it's always an adventure.  Today I didn't lose the trail until the last few miles when I must have taken a wrong turn.  I ended up on another trail, though, and got all the way to Boulder on that.  I didn't even try to go back the same way so my loop made it a 36 mile round trip.

Top Row:          Tete-a-tete between an American White Pelican and a Double-crested Cormorant.
                           This is where I came off the trail in Boulder.  The signage in the city is much better than on the Lobo trail!
                           Polar Bear watching the cyclists go by.

Middle:              Someone's garden along the trail.
                            A beautiful day for sky diving!
                            The St. Vrain River is running very high from snow melt in the mountains.  Tubing was banned a few days ago on all the front range rivers until it calms down.  

Bottom:              Black-tailed Prairie Dog.  I love the way they sit back on their bottoms.
                             Watering Hole along the trail. ;-)
                             Blue Jay - There are a lot of them around but they never seem to sit still long enough for a shot.

My extra is a mural along the trail that I've blipped parts of before.  This is a wide shot of the whole thing.  I love it!

I'm grateful that I didn't sprain my ankle today!  I stopped the bike to take a photo but when I stepped down there was a low spot I hadn't seen and I twisted my ankle.  I managed to stay upright but I felt a stab of pain.  Fortunately, it was just there and gone and it feels fine now.

Thank you to everyone for all your visits and stars and hearts.  I really appreciate all of them!
                            
                           

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.