Non seq

Because colleagues are rightfully confused, I’m asked daily at work about what’s going on with my visa and return to Mozambique. I usually respond to say that decisions taken by the organisation at the start of this role have made things messy and complicated. Depending on how fond the enquirer is of a non sequitur, I am sometimes then ‘reassured’ that [insert name of senior colleague] ‘likes’ me or thinks I’m ‘good’. This serves no purpose other than to remind me that organisations aren’t equipped to help people professionally, objectively and effectively once things get difficult and stressful. And heaven help anyone who is not deemed to be ‘good’.

Looking at the positive, evenings are now pleasant to cycle around in. I caught up with Marty in Cherry Hinton Hall Park in the eastern part of Cambridge. We chose a patch under a big tree that seemed to be mosquito territory, and the only other Park inhabitants by dusk were a couple of bedraggled blokes doing repeat journeys across the park by bike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.