The one who eats birds

My new landlady confirmed I could see the new rooms she’s constructing, so I could reserve one for early July. I went over with my trusty colleague Mariam to make the best pick possible even though at this stage the new rooms are shells with no windows. I opted for the second floor at the end of the row, affording both privacy and security. I’m looking forward to heading there after my upcoming field visit. Mariam expressed her support for my decision in the form of a message containing the Spanish dancer emoji.

The new place is on a road with the name Mlandege Street, which, following the standard convention, is not the same name that appears on Google Maps. I am told that mlandege means ‘the one who eats birds’. A niche piece of vocabulary.

John and I went to Slipway in the evening, as the sunsets there are very alluring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.