The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Four wear hats in Herefordshire

Back row: l to r: G, me, AK. GG in front, seated.

Today was the long-awaited garden festival at Hellens, also known as Hellens manor, a Tudor/Jacobean home, one of the oldest historic houses in England, in Much Marcle, Herefordshire.

I'd been there before, three years ago, when I organised a WEA outing to the same event. This year there were just four of us, friends from the WEA, at a socially distanced festival where all the talks and workshops were held outside, or in open marquees.

Although numbers were limited by ticket sales, and hand sanitiser was in evidence, it was actually possible to forget about CoVid and enjoy mingling, eating and drinking outside in midsummer, browsing the stalls, walking around the 150 acre estate, listening to a band, and drifting in and out of talks. The best talk I attended was on the many benefits of Hemp, and CBD oil. It was not just a sales pitch, and I learned a surprising amount. I also learned, at a separate event, how to make sauerkraut. I'm not sure I ever wanted to, but it's supposedly good for the gut.

I can't tell you how fantastic it felt to be doing something summery and celebratory, like a memory of the good old days, pre-2020. We could not go on a guided tour of the house because we had not pre-booked, but otherwise everything was easy, relaxed and fun. I'd forgotten what having fun feels like!

Oh, and after I'd bought some CBD oil at massive expense, I tried a bit and ended up spending even more money on the blue agate necklace you can see I'm wearing! Picture was taken by a passer-by who was roped in by AK who wanted a souvenir of the day, beyond our tangible purchases.

We shall return to tour the house and grounds on a Wednesday this summer, when it's not as crowded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.