Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Getting somewhere…

Made it! Comfortably ensconced in a castle after the insane drive from Dunoon to Ullapool and a faintly bouncy ferry crossing to Stornoway on the Loch Seaforth. Lews Castle is very grand, but I’m happy to say that apartments are entirely 21st century snd as such far more modern than our place.

Mr PB took the photo of me on the deck of the Loch Seaforth for a post which he entitled “Summer on The Minch”. It was a jolly crossing - I was just ordering our fish and chips when the man taking my order asked if I’d been a teacher … in Dunoon…. An English teacher and my husband a music teacher … and he’d left school in 1985 and thought we were instantly recognisable!

So yes: that was fun. And then we arrived, the second last car off the ferry, to be met by our dear friend Sister Clare waving madly and slipping us a bottle of wine in a bag full of maps snd local info. She guided us here and then departed, our guardian Angel. And now we’ve drunk some wine and found out how to work the telly and we’re about to test the bed …

Night, chums!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.