Windmill 'De Arend', Bergambacht

'Arend' means 'eagle'.
'Bergambacht' is easy to pronounce.  Just a short note, then -- pretend they're two words: 'berg' and 'ambacht'.  So it's not 'Ber-GAM-bacht' but 'Berg-AM-bacht', making the 'g' very soft and putting more emphasis on the 'h', which you don't see, so that you end up with 'BergH-AM-bacht'.  The 'Ber' part really sounds like 'bear' (and not like the sound in 'hamburger').

Another leisurely drive today, and just as it has been the case with regards to many other parts of the country, this is my first time here.  How wonderful to be able to explore in this weather, and with my excuse.  More than ever, I am very thankful and feel rather privileged.

Finished my philosophical essay late at night.  I think it'll get peer-reviewed by tomorrow.

Oh yea, almost forgot -- the kitchen guy arrived at 07.30.  AW was up way ahead of me and ready in time.  The new one will be installed by the end of September.  The real excitement will start once we start dismantling the old one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.