Flag Day.... June 14

Yesterday, June 14, was Flag Day.   I had put out my flags yesterday morning, and then posted another picture of the Playground for the girls.    Before I took my flags down today ( and before they got rained on by the incoming thunder storm )I went out to get these 2 pics.
      The Flag in the thumbnail is a replication of the flag Betsy Ross designed and made for George Washington, the general who fought and won the Revolutionary War.   There are thirteen stars representing the original 13 colonies who fought for our independence from England, British rule, and the right to govern ourselves.    There are 13 stripes also representing 13 original states.

       Beside the thumbnail are several flags that have 50 stars, the current number of States and 13 stripes, representing the original colonies.
       I am very proud of my country and equally proud to say that my family is Idescended  from the Mayflower Pilgrims and eligible to be a DAR......
Daughters of the American Revolution.  Such a rich history.

    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.