carliewired

By carliewired

Peterson Creek Nature Park

Tantalizing, yet
unattainable for me -
no hiking trails now

I was looking for something different this morning....something I haven't viewed for some time. Peterson Creek seemed the location. I know I haven't hiked here since before the 80s. Today, I didn't venture much further than the parking lot at the north entrance. I'm sorry to say my hiking days are over.

To say this is a beautiful area would be an understatement. The park is a protected watershed of some 423 hectares/1045 acres encompassing grasslands and creek beds via a network of 30 km/ 18 miles of gravel trails. There are steep elevations to navigate with cliffs and bluffs. A waterfall and many scenic viewpoints can be enjoyed. Mountain bikers, hikers, dog walkers and birders are very happy here. 

From the north parking lot I can see the tops of Mt. Paul and Mt. Peter when I look back towards the city centre. The main feature to the south is the Peterson Creek Bridge on the Trans Canada Highway. The park spreads out on both sides of this bridge. 

I left my quilted heart on a fencepost beside the entranceway to the trails. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.