Once Around the Island

It's a stellar morn
with sunshine and blue sky, but
will it last the day?

~carliewired

I finished my first cup of coffee by 5:30. It was a rather dazzling morning out there and I thought I'd better get at it in case it didn't last long. I was out the door at 6 and on my way to McArthur Island to have a look at the water levels and whatever else I could find. 

I stopped on the north side first to have a look into the slough. It looks like a glassy pond this morning. Not much for bird life in view. I got a photo of my mountains before moving to the southside. The river is lapping on the south bank. Trees are dipping into the water. 

The marmots were out in great numbers this morning. The little ones scamper about and have the occasional tussle with one another. Most of the time they are grazing the grass in the playing fields or sunning themselves along the river bank. I'm not sure what becomes of their burrows during high water. 

I parked by the Xeriscape garden, leaving my quilted heart on a bench there. Several families of Canada geese in different stages of development were bunched along the east side on the Rivers Trail. A fellow on a bike arrived and handed them something from a plastic bag. I was hoping it was grain, but I suspect it was bread crumbs. Some people don't seem to understand that bread is junk food to wild fowl. As he pedaled away he warned me not to get close to the geese. 

I got some shots of the beautifully tended flowers in the garden. I'm not sure that all of them would truly qualify as 'xeriscape', but they do look pretty. 

I picked up a drive-thru breakfast and was home by 7:15. I have an appointment at noon, but otherwise it's a day to enjoy. 

We have a mainly sunny morning with increasing cloud and a chance of showers later in the day. The forecast promises a high of 25 C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.