Mecanopsis

My day started with a 10km run.  I didn’t go out intending to run that far, but that’s what it ended up being.  I was pleased, but it took me wee while to recover as it (and I) was too hot.  I couldn’t bear to go into the shower until I had cooled down enough. 
After lunch TT and I headed off to Dawyck.  I thought he wanted to watch the football, but he must have had a change of mind.  We were about half way there when we came upon a Police sign - road ahead closed.  We had no idea why, so had to work out an alternative route, on roads we weren’t terribly familiar with in the wilds of Midlothian. Not only that we encountered a cycling event, which possibly explained the road closure.  We were then well and truly on the same route as the cyclists so we made slow progress.  Eventually we got back onto a main road and our progress improved.  However as we got nearer and nearer our destination it got darker and darker and the clouds were getting really thick and grey.  A real contrast the blue skies we had left behind in East Lothian.
We eventually got to Dawyck and went for a wander.  We have never been at this time of year before.  We always go early in the year to see the snowdrops and the first rhododendrons and late in the year when the trees are turning.  There was a dampness in the air, but it was very warm, even though it was grey.  It was lovely to see everything so green and lush.  There were still bluebells flowering (see extra - they are all long gone here) and I even came across a few narcissi still in bloom, though probably not for much longer.  There were lots of azaleas and rhododendrons adding splashes of colour.
Our return journey was much more efficient, even though we were stopped by the fire service for a little while, due to a wild fire that was being doused by a helicopter.
We had left BB at home as he had half a plan (which didn’t materialise) to meet friends.  He was also complaining that his body ached after yesterday’s rugby, which didn’t surprise me, given the number of visible war wounds he is sporting.  As we were nearing home I got a text from him telling me he needed a couple of things for school tomorrow,  Typical!!  Luckily I had to do some supermarket shopping.  I got half of what he needed.
Later we FaceTimed Grandma, had a lovely curry for tea and the boys watched football.
The drifts of blue mecanopsis were my favourite things at Dawyck today, and there were some purple ones too (extra).  I also loved the greenery by the burn (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.