The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Thrupp Lane, from Stroud cemetery

One of my busier days, today. First job was 8.30 to 1.30, at nursery. I saw a deer on the school field. Some of the children were not very endeering, to put it mildly.

This was followed by a walk to the house of my latest employer, where I did half a Zoom class, and then walked up the school/playgroup, collected my three new charges, took them to the park; to the shop for ice-creams, to the park again, and then back to their home for some playtime and supper, which they refused because the ice creams had been so huge (the freezer had broken down and there was not much choice, and mine had turned to soup, anyway). The boys are aged three, three and five so I have my work cut out, but they are lovely as well as lively, and I think I'll have fun with them.

When I got home in the still-intense heat, I found our guests ensconced in the dining room and Steve having a siesta upstairs. B and I went for an evening walk around the new and the old cemetery, where I paused to take this shot.

We're now sitting, replete with chicken, cheese and salad, and I'm thinking it's a great shame I have to go to work tomorrow. It's true I don't drink alcohol now, so I wouldn't be drinking whisky with the boys anyway, but still I'd like to be on holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.