Thursday's painting...

...A trying day of communication problems because I am deaf. Today it was counter Perspex screens, combined with the clear face shields worn by staff, and the sun shining in through, reflected from the shop windows opposite, creating so many reflections (that looked like multiple exposures by the camera) that I was unable to lipread the staff. Their faces behind these 'clear' screens which looked like none had been cleaned, or cleaned badly so everything was smeared, along with the reflections, made their faces look like hungry ghosts or banshees...

The transcription app I have on my phone was unable to cope either because their voices were too muffled. And by this time I was too exhausted to continue. But someone came along whom I normally deal with and helped the person dealing with me who did not know her job. But the reflections and dirty smeared counter screen meant I couldn't lipread him either. Then the cash till was playing up, and neither person could ring up my purchases. Finally it was done. And I could pay. The queue behind me by the time they finally keyed in the right numbers into the till lead out of the shop. I was totally exhausted. I slept a couple of hours when I got home, and have been dozing on and off since. It is 6pm now. And I have an entire day which has been wasted. 

I might as well give up any contact/communication with real people, stay at home, and order everything online...

This digital painting in SketchesProApp I have been doing while half dozing. Inspired by Lin Fengmian.

I have a hospital appointment tomorrow. Even more communication problems with this mask wearing, protection stuff. People mumble behind a mask, and so my phone cannot transcribe their voices. People don't want to take your pen and paper from you these Covid times, to write their replies...

I might as well become a total hermit...I am drowning in this sea of mask/people protection that is these normal Covid times. 

I need another sleep...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.