Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Queen

When it comes to hierarchy at the feeders, the Red bellied Woodpeckers reign supreme.  Even the usually undaunted starlings give way when the RB's show up.  A shame the aperture didn't allow for the blackbird to be in focus, but maybe this works.  After all, the blackbird, usually an aggressive species, was gone an instant later.  

I had big plans today, but I fizzled out a little earlier than I'd hoped.  Second boost of radiation this morning as well as some additional scans.  This morning I had Andre working the room, in addition to Antonio and Melissa.  I've given up any shred of dignity that I once clung to and now hop up on the table, whisk my little gown off and prepare to be zapped.  Although, I think being 65 years old makes me somewhat less inclined to modesty.  

Anyhooo, I had to do the weekly grocery shopping today so I went straight to the market from the cancer center.  I don't like shopping.  By the time I got home and had everything put away, I was out of steam.  So, grabbed my camera and retreated to the deck where I was entertained by a steady stream of birds, squirrels and chipmunks.  And at some point, while my back was turned, something took my best feeder and "disappeared it".  Raccoon or bear.  Either way, no sign of the feeder.  This is the same feeder that disappeared last month; however I was able to find it at the edge of the woods and put it back together.  No sign of it today so I may have to bite the bullet and buy a new one.  It's the only one I have that is truly squirrel proof.  

Tomorrow I am planning to head straight to one of my fave lakes from treatment.  I definitely run out of steam in the afternoons so I'll take full advantage of mornings until the fatigue starts to subside.

Next Tuesday is on for a virtual party to help me celebrate the end to treatment and official cancer-free status.  Nothing required other than to lift a glass of anything you'd like and toast life.  And should a piece of chocolate find it's way into the picture, so much the better!  I will be officially DONE by 10 AM Eastern Daylight Time (GMT -5)!

Be well.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.