Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Up Close

I didn't do a lot of photography today, but thoroughly enjoyed the short time I was shooting.  We've not been putting any feeders out the last few days (not wanting to encourage any of the bears to stick around) so the bird action was a little slow.  It was also very warm and muggy all day.  

The highlight of the morning was seeing three Cedar Waxwings come in to check out the remaining berries on our serviceberry tree.  See shot in Extra for a side view of one without the wax on its wing (meaning it's probably just a year old).  You'd think that would be my blip but I really liked this close up of one of the blue jays.  The current group is very friendly and will perch on the railings while I am on the deck.  I think they are wanting peanuts but I was hesitant to put (bears, again).  This one suddenly fluffed his feathers and raised his crest for maybe 20 seconds - enough time to get a few keeper shots.  

Because of the heat, we didn't get far on our walk today but expect to do much better tomorrow as it will be cooler.

My stomach is still a little grumpy today but otherwise I feel perfectly fine, just not very hungry.  That said, devoured a significant amount of watermelon today - my favorite of all the melons.

Dark with blood orange today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.