Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Glam Shot

The Northern Cardinals are all starting second nests now and this fine looking male was seen feeding two fledglings right before I took this.  He seems to be doing most of the feeding and teaching while the female is working on the next nest (song birds don't re-use nests). He was taking a few minutes to preen give his feathers a good shake.  

I sometimes forget how stunning our cardinals are - we see them in our garden every day.  But when I was recently in Texas two of our group were from Costa Rica and they were delighted every time a flash of red went by.  It allowed me to see them with fresh eyes.  So this cardinal is for Jeff and Dinorah.  

My tummy is still feeling off so I've been pretty lazy today.  I spent some nice time in the garden taking photos, but had to bundle up because it's abnormally cold and windy today.  From almost 90 yesterday to a polar fleece today...

Jax is desperately wanting to play so I am going to get out one of his plush toys and play some tug with him.  Hopefully I can wear him out a bit.  

Dark with blood orange again today, I think.  And maybe something with sea salt too!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.