Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Singing

Two broods of house wrens (2 different females, one very proud male) have now fledged and the male is now advertising heavily for two more baby-mamas.  He's singing from the all his favorite spots in the garden and I'm confident he'll be successful.  

My new Z8 was delivered this morning - Jax and I met the FedEx truck in the driveway (me anxious for the camera and Jax looking for a treat that the FedEx guy always has in his truck.) I spent most of the rest of the day huddled over my computer, the new Z8 in hand, working on getting it set up in a way that will work best for my wildlife photography.  (Big thanks to Osuzanna for turning me onto Steve Perry's excellent wildlife set up guides).

Of course, along the way I did snap (quite) a few "test" images., including this one.  Big learning curve with this camera but I think I am going to love it.  The autofocus system is pretty amazing and extremely fast.  The noise is what I'd expect with a sensor this big - it's the same size as the D850 so I'm used to the noise.  The weight is a hair less than the D850 and the grip is very comfortable in my hand.  I even put it on the tripod for a while.  This will become my primary camera for birds while the D850 will be my go-to for macro.  I will keep the D750 as a backup and I will rehome the D600.

The D600 has a lot of miles on it and is going to need a new shutter at some point in the not-too-distant future.  That being said, if there is someone out there in Blipland who's looking for a full frame body to play around with,  it's yours if you'll pay for shipping.  Body only but it will take most Nikon mount lenses.  Takes regular SD cards and a Nikon EN-EL15 battery.  You can leave a message below or email me if interested.  

Hubs is off on a bike ride and when he gets home we'll have a leisurely dinner and then a quiet evening watching something on the telly.  

Dark with orange today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.