Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Well Hello!

I had hoped (and still do) to get a shot of one of the adult red-bellied woodpeckers feeding a youngster.  However, this young guy came down to the suet feeder alone and proceeded to hold his ground against blue jays and catbirds while grabbing little bits of suet.  I loved this pose as you can just see the beginnings of what will be glorious reddish-orange crown when he is mature.  He will also gain a much bigger voice than the thin rasp he makes now.

The second box of house wrens is partially fledged I think - I saw mama trying to call some reluctant youngsters out of the box by perching nearby and holding a big fat green larva while singing.  The remaining kids stubbornly refused to leave the box.  I expect she will get them out by sundown; or first thing tomorrow.  At least some are already out and chattering about in the brush.

The big charge from B&H hit our credit card today, followed shortly by a notice saying the camera has shipped and will be delivered tomorrow.  Very excited as I've been waiting quite some time for this camera to be released.  I'm preparing to do a deep dive into learning the autofocus system as that will probably be the steepest curve.  Videos queued up and 470 page manual downloaded.  I'm ready!

Hubs and I went out for lunch today which was nice.  Jax was happy to snooze in his crate while we were gone.  Charlie seems to be fully recovered from his big scary adventure yesterday.  I hope we never have to do that again!

I am sitting out on the deck right now and I can hear baby Titmice up in the trees while parents are hitting the seed feeder hard.  Hope to get my first look at the babies this weekend.  This is such a great time of year!

And I just processed the deposit for my trip to Brazil in 2025!  Seems like forever away but I suspect it will be here in a flash.  But first, South Africa an hopefully a macro trip to Costa Rica!

Dark with almonds today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.