Oasis

An oasis of light in a small part of Johnston Gardens. I like this because there is an entirely natural vignette, no assistance from Photoshop. The sun was shining, but from where the photograph was taken only this small area appears to be lit, while everything else was shaded by the trees.

My expectation was to post a close up of a flower, but rightly or wrongly the effect in this image stood out for me.

When I arrived in the gardens my first thought was to check on the moorhen. I am not sure how many moorhens there are in the lake. My impression has been there is only one family. One moorhen was very busy with the nest. I saw another chasing the ducks. They certainly did not want to mess with an angry moorhen.

When I moved to the area where the second moorhen was standing guard I caught site of a tiny, really tiny, baby moorhen. I only saw it briefly as most of the time the parent kept it buried in the vegetation. The ducks did not seem to be disturbing it, but I am sure a seagull would have a go given half a chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.