Garden view (Day 2234)

A busy day started with a return visit to the job I couldn't do the day before yesterday. Scottish Water had located the main external stopcock for the house. I would never have found it, as it was in a different street! It also turned off the supply to four houses, so after informing all the people who would be affected, I got the water turned off. Changing the internal stopcock went ok, despite the really cramped space I had to work in.
When I turned the water on again it was about the same colour as dark chocolate when it came out the taps. The neighbours reported the same problem, though it did clear slowly. I made a start on changing the shower, and was interrupted by one of the neighbours telling me that her kitchen tap wasn't working, and I promised to get along to sort it as soon as the shower was done.
I suspected that the kitchen tap was blocked with crud from the water main. Isolating the supply and undoing a connection rewarded me with a shower of brown goop out of the water main. It took ages to clean up.
Home for a quick lunch with my beautiful wife, then back to the shepherd's hut to finish off.
No pics taken today, so a quick snap of the view from the bottom of the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.