This old house……

Standing at the bus stop on the way to community choir I was wondering what I could blip today.  I looked across the road at this old cottage where I started married life, and thought I would take a photo.  Hubby was born and bred in this village, and although houses were much cheaper in nearby towns and villages he wanted to stay here.  Houses in the village were selling as soon as they went on the market, so we had to be quick to even get a viewing.  I love old houses and beamed ceilings etc, so although small I loved this little cottage. Once I had my daughter we had to move as 2 bedrooms had been knocked into one and it just wasn’t big enough. We didn’t even need to advertise - word of mouth brought in several enquiries.  We sold it in wintertime - a viewing was due so we lit a roaring log fire. The young couple who came to view walked though the door, saw the fire and said “we’ll have it” before they had even looked around!  I still miss it apart from the busy main road. The people who live there now have installed a different style of windows and replaced the old door which had lovely stained glass. They have also built on at the back which meant digging out much of the garden which we thought was too much of a task. Still, nice to see it is well looked after.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.