Mr John

By MrJohn

Shelby .....

..... and Libbie.

Today I've had a trip in to Bradford to visit the Tom Wood exhibition at the Nationa Media Museum. If you're anywhere near Bradford between now and the middle of June I'd highly recommend a visit, it's a stunning exhibition. There were some write ups by Tom wood about his photography and one of them about his beginings taking street portraits made me smile with recognition~

'This is not candid photography. Most of my early portraits resulted from me asking someone if I could photograph them, but I was shy, so it was often difficult for me. I imagine they could sense my nervousness and perhaps my genuine interest in them as individuals.

Most people I asked tended to allow me to photograph. Taking the photograph involved me looking down in to the viewfinder, hiding my shyness to an extent and sometimes I even looked away as I pressed the shutter.'


After the exhibition I had a wander up to the market to visit my favourite cafe in Bradford for a cuppa and some cake but it was closed and surrounded by security as there was a rather large film crew in there. Someone else obviously appreciates it's 70's stylings.

I instead had a wander around town and after being inspired by the exhibition took a few street portraits including this one of Shelby and Libbie. I noticed them walking across City park as it was hard to miss Shelby's hair. A couple of local yobs were shouting ( not very nice things ) at them, but they either didn't hear, or chose to ignore them. I asked if I could take a photo and they were more than happy to pose. I never tell people where to stand or how to pose when I ask for photos and am surprised at how few people smile, but I quite like it.

I've put a few more photos from today here. As they were kind enough to stop and pose for this photo, today's blip is .....


..... Shelby and Libbie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.