1970 March-Ford

Today I went to visit the Heritage Motor Centre, near Warwick (I think). A museum of British cars from about 1900 to 2005. A large collection and beautifully cared for. I don't think I have seen cars in such pristine condition outside a sale showroom.

Photography is allowed and I took full advantage, but there could only really be one contender for my photo of the day. Jackie Stewart's 1970 March-Ford. I may have seen this car race at the 1970 British Grand Prix, though it could have been a sister chassis.

Goodness Grand Prix cars still had gear levers back then. was there more skill then or now. I suppose the emphasis shifts, todays' drivers have more time to think about other things. They are also more likely to live to retire, and make a lot more money.

On the information relating to an MG rally car it said the the works drivers were not paid. It was a privilege to drive one of their cars. They were allowed to keep any trophies they won and associated prize money.

Times change!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.