The Ides of March

Although todays is the Ides of March the festival passed without event, though perhaps it is dangerous to say that until the day is over. This day I went to Sonning, a pretty village a couple of miles north of Twyford. The picture shows the Church of St. Andrew.

In days gone by pilgrims could worship a relic of Saint Cyriacus as well as visit the Bull Inn next door to the Church. I don't know about the relic, the church itself seemed fairly quiet, but the Bull Inn next door was doing quite well. The pub is also mentioned in "Three Men in a Boat". I don't know if this is particularly unusual, the pub is actually owned by the church.

It was the pub which had brought me to Sonning on the Ides of March as I was meeting friends and having lunch there. Indirectly I was contributing to the church funds, though perhaps only partially in the same way as the pilgrims of yore. A good time was had, and despite the date Julius Caesar was never mentioned. Instead much conversation and reflections on the good old days when we worked together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.