JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

At the gravel pit.

How virtuous I have been today.  Ticking off my entire "to do" list.  Then I went to Charlottetown gravel pit. Usually deserted but the two parking spaces were occupied.  The third and final one had a car but room for another so I decided to turn at a farm track to face the right way for going home.  Couldn't do it as two cyclists had dropped their bikes there and were picking them up in a very slow and dithery way.  Not the usual lycra and helmet types.  Old fashioned rucksacks, shorts and a skirt.  I went under the railway bridge, turned in another track and came back to find them now dithering beside the lay-by I wanted to get into.  Looking bewildered as I slowed down and waited to see what they meant to do.  After a moment they wove off on their way looking as if they had materialised from the past.  Who knows ?    Maybe they had.  I walked round the gravel pit to see if a little patch of orchids might be flowering but the water level has risen so much the space was being taken over by yellow flag and mare's tail.  It began to rain.  I took some photos.  Came back to the car.  The heavens opened.  Drove home with water bouncing off the windscreen.  Regardless of all the mischances it had been a pleasantly relaxing interlude and I was going to escape having to water the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.