Waters Meet

Last night I slept so incredibly well. Brian had a massive coughing fit and ended up going down to sleep on the sofa and I even slept through all that! I've no real side-effects from my second vaccine other than being tired. I have been most of the day too, despite my good sleep!

I didn't get up until 9.30 AM and then went straight to town to collect medication from Boots. Then I just chilled out and read until we could get ready and go over to see Jeri and family. 

It's the first time we have visited at their new place in Retford. It's a lovely house if not quite so good an area. It's not rough though, and certainly better than where we live! Their "moving day" was Tuesday, and they were just completing the last of the sorting out today. They - mostly Jeri really - have done a fantastic job in getting in, unpacked and turning the place into a proper home already!

This little monument with a tiny fountain coming out of the top of it is at the entrance to the little square that their house is on. The waters that meet are the River Idle and the 18th Century Chesterfield canal I think. There are lots of wells around there and it's the water resources that led to the establishment of the town. It does seem to have quite a rich and interesting history!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.