A rough voyage

Got back from my trip to Mull this evening and am too tired to fill in the last few days. 

Briefly, today I went on a boat trip, counting seabird nests on the various islets around the island of Iona, a continuation of NTS work carried out last week. The boat concerned is the 'Birthe Marie', an ex-fishing boat built in Denmark in 1933. We motored - rather too wild for sailing I think - out to the small uninhabited islet of Reidh Eilean some two miles west of Iona, where somehow we managed to scramble ashore and where I tried to calm my heaving stomach while the others carried out their work. Hordes of bottle-nose dolphins playing around the boat, but hard to take pictures with one hand while hanging on with the other. 

More tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.