Scarecrow Time!

On a stroll around the village, carrying only the Fuji GFX50R that I have on loan from Fujifilm, we encountered a scarecrow or two.  It's a fun thing to do, but I've never felt that I had the necessary creativity to make my own.

The GFX50R is a "medium format" digital camera that reminds me of the original Fuji rangefinder-type digital camera, the X-Pro1.  It has a similar shape and is almost as slow in operation, but only because it makes massive files: each Raw file is over 100Mb in size, the the compressed Jpegs are over 30Mb.  Having just discovered these sizes I've been madly deleting the Raw files so as not to fill up my limited hard drive space.

Although it's slow to take and store each image, the autofocus is lightning quick, and I've enjoyed the quality of the images, with plenty of pixels to play with when the mood takes me.  I've also enjoyed the vastly decreased depth of field available with a large sensor like this one.  The Extra is an example.  And Mrs B tells me that the dog roses are out late this year.

I'll take the GFX50R to Bridport with me tomorrow, where I have a hygienist's appointment (the first time I've had to pay for one and it's costing me £80!) in preparation for a dental implant.  I might forgo breakfast at home and find a bacon bap in Bridport or West Bay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.