Tuesday, 20:37

I am glad to see the end of that work week. More so than usual, I mean. 

I am glad too that I had arranged to go away this weekend, because it will help to put the work week out of my mind quickly. 

Just like 4 weeks ago I jumped into the car after work and drove north on the A9, and yes, ended up at the airport hotel in Inverness again. I even had fish and chips for dinner outside by the sea, as I did 4 weeks ago. It was a different venue - Findhorn, not Nairn - but just as much fun. 

It is very rare for me to find driving on the A9 to be a pleasure. Today it was. The road was quiet and the weather was beautiful. Hills, forests, rivers, blue sky, sunshine… 

My Blip is the old packhorse bridge over the River Dulnain in Carrbridge, a few miles north of Aviemore. I have passed it countless times. It dates from 1717, and was damaged during a massive flood in the 19th century.  

Carrbridge is about 2 hours into the drive north, and a good point to stop for a break. It has a public toilet, which adds to the attraction. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.