Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Day 21

I walked in the doors of the Cancer Center this morning at 9:20 where I was greeted with a two thumbs-up from the receptionist. The Nurse Facilitator was in the waiting room and had a whole packet of information for the “survivorship” phase of cancer, along with some words of wisdom and a list of resources. By then, the radiologist were ready for me and gave me my final zapping as well as a certificate (Extra).

Then I was whisked off to meet with the radiology nurse, Diane, who spent some time assessing the rash and just talking about what to expect next. And finally I met with Dr. Lo who checked me over and offered more words of wisdom. I already have my next appointment with her schedule at the end of next month.

It was a whirlwind of emotions today. I am so relieved to be done with radiation but at the same time, I also feel a little adrift. I’ve been fully focused on eradicating cancer for 2 1/2 months and now ...well, I don’t have anything more to do. Now I need to come to terms with survivorship. And I suspect anyone who has had cancer can relate to this.

Anyway, I made a quick trip to the grocery store and then home where I’ve basically been a lump. Zero energy today. A long afternoon nap. A soothing mug of chai. A bit of fun with the makings of the celebratory martini in my little light box.

I will raise a toast to all of you tonight - for being with me along this rocky road, for all your love, support and acts of kindness, for just being Excellent in the best Blipfoto fashion.

Cheers

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.