Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Frazzled

I have spent most of the day outside in our garden, getting a huge dose of nature-therapy.  There are so many downy woodpeckers around right now - at least six adults and all of their "kids", which makes for lots of entertaining moments.  The youngsters tend to careen into the windows pretty regularly, fortunately never going fast enough to cause any damage to themselves.  And today, one careened onto my hat for the briefest of moments.  I was very happy to be wearing a hat since woodpecker toenails are very sharp and grippy.  

My original plan for today was to meet up with some friends for a hike.  When I woke up, I had a big debate with myself and then decided to bail on the hike.  I think it was the right decision.  I am physically and emotionally drained right now and a few days at home is probably just what I need - especially since there is so much to see in the garden now.  My natural tendency is to push myself and power through whatever is happening - but I think this may not be the time to do that.  Much to my shock, I'm not actually Super Woman.

The gardens on our property are getting ready to burst into full summer bloom.  The phlox is budded up, the milkweed is already blooming, the mountain mint is getting buds, the echinacea and rudbeckia are ready to pop.  Bees and other pollinators are already increasing, which makes me very happy.  And I'm finally seeing a few more hummingbirds, too - July and August are always the peak months here for them. So, nature is ready to give me all the nurturing I need.

Thanks to everyone who joined me in celebrating the end of radiation yesterday.  It was a day of many conflicting emotions, but it also represents another step forward.  Couldn't do this without all the support and love.

Be safe and enjoy something chocolate today - I'm suggesting dark with essence of blood orange...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.