Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A Moment

How lucky am I to realize at 5 PM that I really don't have a blip rush out the back door, and within 2 minutes have this shot?  Very lucky.  This is a shot I try to get every year and a scene I never, never tire of watching - an adult Downy Woodpecker (with the red cap) feeding his daughter.  The adult woodpeckers make a very distinctive sound when they are letting the youngster know that food is coming - it's not a sound that I have heard them make at any other time of year.  And the fledglings make a sweet, fast chatter signifying that they are ready to be fed.  I can't promise that you won't see this again before the season slips away.

I met up with my nature friend this morning and we went out for a few miles along a wetland area. Mercifully, we were in the shade most of the time as it was hot and humid and sunny today.  It was most enjoyable although I really don't have any photos to show for it (took the macro lens, which guaranteed that we'd see lots of birds).  

I was knackered from the heat so I took a nap this afternoon, accompanied by Phoebe who is the napping Queen.

Tomorrow Hubs is leaving for the NJ race track where the He Man Racing Team hopes to get in their first racing of the season.  Still trying to work some kinks out of the car, so we'll see.  Hubs will be taking the RV so he has a home to stay in while he's down there.  If all goes well and the car holds up, he won't be home until late Sunday or Monday morning - we'll see.

Stay safe out there, people.  Be loving, be kind.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.