A More Temperate Day

It was "only" 86F/30C today...but a glorious, cool morning. I was up early (not necessarily because I wanted to be by the way) so watered early and got on with the day. I played 9 holes of golf and actually won 5 dollars! More course work - Monday and Tuesdays are the days I try to get that work done. Although this weekend is supposed to be SO hot - over 100 degrees Friday afternoon through Monday afternoon - that I will surely be huddled by the air conditioner vent...doing work. 

I do not know (or remember) the name of this sweet little hardy geranium. It's low to the ground - maybe 6" high max, and spreads quite a bit during the season - a good 2' before succumbing to frost. It's tidy and sweet and has lovely flowers. 

I thought that my sunflower leaves were being eaten by slugs (or worse yet, Japanese Beetles...we are waging a battle against their appearance in Western Oregon). But I saw Goldfinches eating them! Of course they love the seeds, but the leaves? Have you seen such a thing?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.