The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

EB: Green is the colour

...of my true love's hair?

Work this morning was followed by a Zoom class in a cafe. Thank goodness the earplugs are noise-cancelling!

Then I pootled home via the town centre, where I didn't buy anything, and by the time I'd put the bins out, fed Bomble, etc, it was 4.30 already. Put out the hammock, threw on some shorts and climbed on board. It didn't take long for me to fall asleep! The sound of scampering squirrels woke me. They can leap phenomenal distances.

Eventually a friend rang. She wanted to go for a walk. I said I wasn't free until early July, but she said she might be needed in London by then. (Whatever. I was too sleepy to ask why).

Then I got out of the hammock and put on some trousers, because a friend and her daughter were coming around. We chatted and ate melon, and then Kirsty (friend's daughter) and I tried some slimy aromatherapy bootees that I had been given. We tried one each. The peppermint oil left my foot feeling very cold, and it still feels slimy. (As a clinical aromatherapist, I knew that would happen, and I still don't understand why essential oil products for sale are not better regulated. EOs are potent substances.

My mother rang to say that my uncle has a broken bone. She wanted the phone numbers of my cousins so that she could alert them. I have no idea how his bone broke, but the doc sounds unhelpful, saying 'oh, it's just one of those things'. He's 80 and lives alone and can't walk.

It's a sign of the times. Friend D got an alert from track and trace today and has to self isolate for five days. Doesn't sound long to me, five days, though I'd be frothing at the mouth if it was me that had to stay at home for that long. I did manage that length of self isolation recently, but I was ill at the time so it was the obvious thing to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.