A Gift!

John went off to the dentist this morning. He was gone quite a long time and eventually came back bearing a gift. Our anniversary is next week, but most years we both forget it! If I can contain myself, I'm going to wait until the actual day to open it. I wonder what it could be? 

Our housecleaner came this morning bringing chaos with her. She is a talker, and is currently receiving lots of phone calls beause her house burned down and she and her husband are acting as contractors to rebuild it. Apparently the division of labor is that she makes all the phone calls and he shows up at the site. Spike added his share by barking and attacking her vacuum cleaner. He stayed in the room with me while I took a zoom class.  Later I was trying to make a creme caramel custard for Peter who had all four of his wisdom teeth out yesterday, and I was having a hard time dealing  with hot burnt sugar, a barking dog, a loud vacuum cleaner and a startled and jumpy cleaner. 

Caroline departed leaving us with a clean (and quiet) house and a need for a nap. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.