Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Monsoon Begins!!!!!!

I heard an unfamiliar sound when I was standing in the kitchen last night. I looked through the window blinds and that’s when I saw it. RAIN!! - for 20 minutes. While I was grinning like a fool, I saw Larry across the street grinning, too.

As awesome as that was, today there was rain on and off, sprinkles and showers. Even thunder. It was incredible. At one point I was in the Café and everyone was pointing at it as they shared their joy.

I wandered around taking pictures with my phone. Happily, Bob’s wide Wednesday theme is “something you love!” I cannot express how much I loved today’s clouds, rain and thunder.

The drought has gotten almost unspeakably bad. There are dozens of wildfires in AZ, and as of today, all state lands (including parks) are closed…except for cows. So far, the Coronado National Forest (in which Madera Canyon is located) is still open but activities are highly restricted, even so far as banning smoking.

So RAIN!! I’m lovin’ it. Within the span of less than 2 hours the temperature dropped from 101° to 76°. From now through September, it will be the thing I love the most.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.