Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Buttercups

Miss L left her computer at school yesterday not knowing she wouldn't be going in today. 
But she logged on via her ipad this morning and got on with her work. No drama.
Which is more than can be said about some of the mums on the Whatsapp group.
Oh. My. God.
It's not everyone by any means but a very irritating minority.
Have we heard about the PCR test yet? Have you had an email from school about it???????
School should have let us know sooner. Before 9pm last night when they were informed about the positive lateral flow test????????
What about our plans for this weekend? Hang on, let me just get my crystal ball out......
It went on and on. All day. Uuuuggghhhhhhhhh!
Tonight was the night of Miss E's rearranged trip to Bounce with her friends. She got quickly changed once she got in and we set off for Milton Keynes.
Just as we were leaving a couple of Miss L's friends turned up on their bikes and asked if she could come out to play.  I wondered for a second whether Miss L should be going out but she was giddy and already  charging up the stairs to get dressed. 4.30pm and she was still in her jim-jams!
I didn't want to be the mum that said no and embarrassed Miss L in front of her friends.
So off she went on her bike, and off Miss E and I went to Milton Keynes.
We met Mrs C and Miss J in the car park at Xscape and then went up to Bounce. Mrs C and I left them to their bouncing and unnaturally coloured slush and went across to Starbucks where we could drink tea and coffee in peace for an hour. Bliss.
Miss E and Miss J appeared - very hot and sweaty and ready for their McDonalds.
As they were stuffing their faces I browsed my email and discovered the pissiest of pissy emails from the headmistress of MIss L's school.
Titled:  Year 6 Isolation Incident.
Oh my goodness I thought, what's happened?
Well.

Dear Mrs K,

I am writing to inform you of a concerning incident that has been brought to my attention this evening by some staff and parents. 

Miss L and some other Year 6 girls, were spotted in Buckingham town centre after school on their bikes. As per our comms, due to PHE guidance, we shut our Year 6 bubble to protect not only the staff and children, but also the general public. Year 6 children are expected to self-isolate as close contacts of a positive case, as we communicated, until we advise on next steps based on the PCR outcome, which we let you know as soon as possible. 

While she appreciated that isolation can be frustrating blah, blah, blah......
The email last night from school said they were "closing the bubble" until the results of the PCR test. That was it. No mention of isolation.
As we communicated?????? No you didn't!!!!!! (see extras)
Now I admit that if I hadn't been rushing out the door and if her friends hadn't just turned up on the doorstep I probably would have said of course she couldn't go out because she was supposed to be isolating. But I was pleased that her friends had come to call for her and I thought that it would be nice for her to go out with her friends to make up for the upset of having to self isolate. 
Because I'm an idiot!!
I mentally composed dozens of replies telling her what I thought of her "concerning incident" and the staff and parents who have nothing better to do than get on the phone and report Miss L for being out on her bike.
Then I admitted to myself that I was so cross because I knew I was in the wrong. And I hate to think she thinks I don't care about the rules. Sigh.
When I got home I had words with Miss L for going into town on her bike when I thought they'd been going to the local park and then wrote to the head and said I was sorry for breaking the rules through not thinking but I did feel their comms (as she kept calling the email) were lacking. 
And f**k you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.