Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Another Covid Haircut

We had an email from school this morning to say that the PCR test was unfortunately positive for the pupil in the bubble so all of Year 6 have to isolate for ten days. Arse.
Almost immediately the Whatsapp group leaped into action with ridiculous speculation about who it was - literally naming names based on nothing - and the outrageousness of not being told who it was and, of course,  "if we just stopped testing it will all go away......." FFS.
I felt for the mum of the child who was quite probably reading all this batshit craziness.
After a while there was a Whatsapp message from MIss L's class teacher  forwarded by someone as she's not in the Whatsapp chat group. She wanted to let us know that  it's her son who's tested positive. He had been quite poorly on Thursday but seemed a little better now. She apologised for all the disruption. As if it's her fault!!
On the one hand I was quite relieved that the positive case is not someone Miss L would have had much contact with - a boy in a different class. On the other, his mum is Miss L's teacher and if this new variant is as extra contagious as the news would have us believe then it feels like it'll only be a matter of time. We'll see.
I haven't had a haircut since December 10th so it wasn't a moment too soon to get into the hairdressers today and have three inches lopped off.
I had been looking forward to a bit of pampering and a nice cup of tea. 
I got the pampering but the tea was vile. It tasted like it had been through the teapot several times. Uuuughhhhhhhh!
Tea has to be pretty bad for me not to drink it!
But my hair feels all swooshy and lovely!
I popped into the library for a COVID test on the way to the hairdressers. We'll be testing more often this week and I find it so much easier to do it at the test centre than find the time/inclination to do it at home.  Negative - yay!!
Second day of Euro 2020 today. We watched the Denmark Finland game and were horrified at the unfolding awfulness of Christian Erikson's collapse and resuscitation. Watching him go down and the sight of his awful blank face made me think of my brother's stroke in 1996. You knew immediately how bad it was.
I wanted to turn it off but couldn't. With tears streaming down my face I said to Mr K we've just seen someone die in front of us. Everything's so awful at the moment and we can't even have a bit of football to enjoy and escape with. No, somebody has to drop dead in front of us. And the sight of his poor wife. 
It was pretty much the worst thing I've ever seen.
Thankfully it seems tonight that he's stable in hospital after what turns out to have been a cardiac arrest. If it was going to happen it was the best place for it with incredible medics on hand.
The last few days have been tough. When will it end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.