Small Paradise: The Lily Pond at the Arboretum

It was a big day for T. Tiger and me. I drove the Mazda into town, and we went to the Arboretum, our first visit since mid-May. We checked out the Palmer Museum's new Summer Light American Impressionist exhibit; it was our first museum stop since February of 2020!

I also managed to connect with a good friend I hadn't seen in a very long time, a fellow recent retiree from Penn State, and she and I walked around the Arboretum gardens together, admired all the new plantings, and caught up. Doesn't that sound like a great day?

The photo above is of the lily pond, which is growing into its full summer splendor. There are water lilies in several colors, and the greatest news of all is this: there are THREE lotus blooms starting on the lily pond! Behind the lily pond is the charming poplar grove that turns so golden and glorious each November.

After a stroll around the gardens with my friend, I walked over to the Palmer Museum to see its newest exhibit, Summer Light. Their current procedures due to Covid are that you arrange a (free) ticket online in advance. However, their system uses Ticketmaster, and due to difficulties with that system, I had to arrange my ticket by contacting Visitor Services, who were happy to help me. A painting from that exhibit appears in the extras.

The second floor of the Palmer is closed now for repairs, so the only things that are open are the first floor and the museum shop, which is a favorite of mine. There is a photo in the extras of one of the paintings from that exhibit. This summer, construction will begin on a new art museum that will be located at the Arboretum. (How convenient! Two of my favorite things all in one spot, finally!)

After the museum visit, I walked around campus for a little while, before hitting up the Berkey Creamery for yet another free half-gallon of ice cream, using the gift card my department gave me upon my retirement. It's the gift that keeps on giving!

It is my custom to include a song with each posting, and I know you've seen and heard this one before, but it is so apt. This place - the lily pond - is so dear to me. It is one of my small paradises.  So the song is John Mellencamp, with Small Paradise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.