A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Masked Visitor

We were up and dressed earlier than usual this morning expecting the arrival of a couple of landscapers to mulch the flower beds around the property. We appreciate their help and truthfully they do a much better job of it • While the coffee brewed and the cats were eating I stepped outside to set out a few peanuts and realized I was feeling generous and needed more. On my return trip with another container of nuts I scanned the patio and lilac trees before opening the door, it’s something I do habitually without even noticing it. But today I did notice! In the two minutes I was inside this masked bandit had climbed the lilac tree, checked out two (almost empty) suet feeders, then turned to face me! He must have seen me as clearly as I could see him! I’m actually wondering if it was a female feeding herself or little ones. Anyway the hungry raccoon climbed down and ran across our driveway into the woods • Now you know why I look first, then open the door. Occasionally I’m surprised :) • The flower beds look so nice with fresh dark mulch. By morning they’ll be messed up by the menagerie of curious wildlife (including our cat)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.