Life In Wales

By KarenC

The Great Escape

I was back at the zoo this afternoon, and it was the busiest it’s been while I’ve been volunteering and really highlighted the need of volunteers. I worked at reptiles today where we have an alligator beach, a reptile house and children’s farm, so it takes quite a bit of controlling when it’s busy. We have to control how many people are going inside at once and make sure that people who can, wear their face masks. It interesting how many people don’t have masks with them or have left them in the car. Luckily, I was working with Shaun another volunteer, so he kept his eye on the alligator beach while I did the reptile house. It was nice meeting someone else and being able to chat.

I was asked a few questions by visitors that I didn’t know the answers to, like how to they clean the alligators out, how old are the big tortoises and why are the black turtles shaking their feet at each other’s faces. I asked Margaret and she said that they have fish in the alligator pool and they eat everything including the alligator poo (they only poo in water), so they keep the pool clean. She didn’t know how old the tortoises are but the black turtles were doing their mating ritual.

One visitor came over to me to tell me there was an escapee tortoise in the garden and asked if it should be there, I asked them to point it out and then I went in search of a keeper to check. Anyway it was fine and they know it’s there, it’s allowed to wander.

When I finished my shift I went to check out a doggy day care/boarding kennels where Yvonne takes Marley. I was quite impressed - they have three enclosed Astro turf areas with agility equipment, where the dogs can play together, supervised, and this includes day care dogs and boarders, it was very clean and all the dogs seemed very happy. We’ve booked a few nights away to Bath in September, so I booked the boys in but will also book some day care sessions in beforehand so they get used to going there. It’ll be a bit different for them than going to stay with Charlotte, but hopefully they’ll enjoy being with the other dogs.

Tonight I’ve driven to mum’s as she has a hospital procedure tomorrow, so I’m staying with her for a couple of nights. I brought Arthur the bear, and she loves him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.