JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Elcho Castle Doocot.

Rather overcast and not warm, it wasn't a day I felt inclined to do anything.  A lot of the morning was spent researching Galloway and writing up places near where we will be staying for Veda.  It's good because I'm a creature of habit and tend to visit my favourite places again and again.  Doing this is giving me some fresh ideas.
       Skipped housework and gardening although I did my exercises.  Then I went off to Perth to hand my camera in to a local camera shop that I like.  They will send it off to Canon to be overhauled.  As a result I will be without it for weeks and will have to use my old Canon 5D Mark ii.  It's in very good nick and I've also got a G12 so I'll get by.  Went off to do some exploring and to visit Elcho Castle.  I knew it was closed but didn't realise they had shut the car park so that I could hardly turn to get back out.  However I was able to park near the old 16th century beehive  doocot.  This is one of the first doocot designs, later ones were often square with sloping roofs.  Also got a shot of the castle. See Extra.  
Then realised I was low on petrol so cancelled the exploring and drove home to fill up the tank.  I'll go back another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.