Zantedeschia aethiopica

I rescued this Arum lily from the redundant allotment shed next to mine up on the plot. I could see the bloom through the dirty window, looking very neglected so when Jim gave up the plot I brought the plant home. Repotting it in fresh compost, its now repaying me with this beautiful curvaceous bloom. It's in a cooler part of the garden along with the Dramera peltata, both growing in pots, they like partial shade and moisture at their roots.
I walked up to the plot this morning, I thought the snails may have munched on the PSB I potted up yesterday, but pleased to say they were still intact. I measured a few of the beds as I'm thinking about making some lightweight portable cages that I can move about the plot. Mr & Mrs Pheasant casually strolling around the allotment site, everyone I've spoken to have had pheasant damaged crops. At least the hen sitting in the middle of the neglected plot has moved on. The new gardener had strimmed around the nest but I guess it was just too much for her. 2-3 pheasants are quite enough to contend with. 2 newbies, Samantha & Zoe. Sam came and bought plants from me at the sale I held, & strangely enough it was Zoe that I gave a bundle of furnishing fabrics backalong through an advert on the local FB page. The sky looked really threatening, Dartmoor had disappeared completely, the threat of rain imminent, so I walked up to town for the paper & see if there was any bread in the Community Fridge for the birds. French sticks & baguettes don't crumb very easily, but I found a couple of soft rolls that were ideal. :-). The rain skirted around, & the sun came out.
Back home I began cutting out a top pattern from a man's M&S cotton shirt bought at the charity shop last week. I've had the pattern for years, & used it many times for the dress, this is the chopped version. Simple, cool, & easy to wash n wear. Perfect for wearing on the plot.
Went into Newton Abbot to buy a few bits. Iceland, & the Coop, are now stocking a new plain yogurt - Lancashire Farm natural biotic yogurt, which I really like so picked up a tub. Bought Robin summer food mix, so I hope Bobby & his missus like it. Tesco's next, whizzed around, then back home.
I walked up to town, got money for Mum from the post office, dropped in to the library to print off a couple of coloured photocopies of the letter sent from Rowcroft. The librarian did'nt charge me as it was a charity event. "Don't tell anyone I did'nt charge you". Wel,l I know you're not going to tell anyone ;- ) I added a thank you then asked Andrew in the hardware shop & Liz in the fruit & veg shop if they would display them for a week. Job done! I bought 2 tickets for the Chudleigh Open Gardens for Mum & I. The forecast looks decidedly iffy for Sunday, when I thought we might have a wander so could be a change of plan.
I cut the grass, did a bit of weeding, removed some disgusting cat mess from the front border.  Pruned some of the hedging along the pavement. Berberis darwinii, I wonder if that would be easy to propagate. I've put some suitable material in a tub with some water while I read up. I need to be thinking plants for next years sale.
Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.