Rodents rule

By squirk

Water, water, not everywhere

It poured rain during the night – the garden has enjoyed a fine watering.

Now to the water pipes. The kettle in the kitchen hasn't run dry, thank goodness, despite a massive burst water main that is affecting 4,000 properties in the area. We walked past it this evening and chatted briefly to one of the guys working on the pipe. He said he was going to be there all night – they weren't sure what they were dealing with yet. 

Earlier in the walk, we passed three water tank trucks filling local water systems with water. It must be an ongoing operation to keep everyone watered. I really feel for people (some just at the top of my road) who don't have any water. Poppy's owner rang me to say I could have some of hers if we run out, which was really lovely. The neighbours are looking out for each other.

I was worried about the shops and cafes on the high street but they were all open as usual. This was particularly good news for me as I had a lunch date with a friend at the Electric Cafe for veggie breakfast. We sat at a table outdoors and chatted about all sorts of things, but in particular the relatively low vaccine take-up in Lambeth. One of the things she's doing as a councillor is helping to bring "vaccine buses" to estates to bring the vaccine to the people rather than folk having to travel to get it. 

There's surge testing going on in West Norwood, but you wouldn't know it – there's a sign on the church, but I haven't seen any other notices to say "get tested" when out and about. I feel lucky to have been double-jabbed. It does make me feel safer (although I know I'm not invincible).

Back to the walk and one notable event was that we saw a peregrine falcon grab a pigeon mid-air! It all happened very fast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.