Roadside Rewilding

So last night did not go to plan! While Brian was fetching us a take-away last night I got a call from Estelle, my Dad's neighbour to say that my Dad was unwell - she thought he'd had a stroke as he was struggling to talk. An ambulance had been called but hadn't arrived.

Brian was back within seconds so we bolted our food - didn't enjoy it at all, and headed straight off to Metheringham.

My Dad had not had a stroke, fortunately, and was chatting and joking with the ambulance crew when I arrived. He still was not well though and they suspected pneumonia.  they whisked him off in the ambulance - he was not happy that they made him ride on their trolley rather than walk to the van but it was for the best. 

I was to stay and Ally-sit. It dawned on me that if he was going to be for a while, as it would be with pneumonia, I could be Ally-sitting for a while.

I watched the pre-World Cup warm up game between England and an All-Star team (I am talking Rugby League now by the way!) It was a good game, but I think England won't be winning that World Cup.

I tried to sleep but only managed about an hour. Ally was restless, I could not get comfy and I daren't turn the light off as I'd seen a few spiders and would not know where they were in the dark! 

Next morning I walked down to the shop to get coffee as my Dad only had machine stuff and I don't know how his machine works. I got something to eat which wasn't that nice, a bit of cooked chicken for Ally to eat as he wasn't touching his dry dog food or the tray dog-meat my Dad had in the fridge. and a newspaper.

After a coffee and finishing the book I'd taken with me I took the chance to do a bit of cleaning in the bungalow. At the same time I was communicating with Brian and the wife of one of his colleagues who is like a dogs expert - she helps track lost dogs, rehomes strays and abandoned ones etc - she loves cats too! 

We were trying to find a respite care place for Ally so I could go home. There were many snags along the way, like him not being vaccinated for kennel cough (as he was deemed not likely to have needed that one!)  and his regular inoculations were done exactly one year ago and were therefore also due. Many hoops were jumped through or missed. (By us, not Ally!! He doesn't do hoop jumping!)

Bri's colleague's wife. Wendy put me in touch with another of her dog - maven friends and she soon had a plan in place. She brought a crate and with much coaxing we got Ally into it and she took him to some kennels she often works with and vouches for. 

I don't think my Dad had thought what might happen or actually is happening, and he may not like the situation but I didn't really have a choice!

I had called the hospital to see how my Dad is doing. I'd attempted to call a few times but I'm sure the staff are very busy. Anyway it's not pneumonia either - it's a lower respiratory tract infection. The guy who spoke to me spoke quickly and with an accent. Normally I'm fine with any accent but he spoke so fast, and like he was speaking to another medical professional not a lay person. But it seems he is doing well, on antibiotics, fluids drip and painkillers! I am going to try to book a visiting slot tomorrow.

Brian fetched me home - I was hungry, tired and covered in dog-hairs. We stopped by the road on the way home and I took this shot of the colourful flowers by the field. There was a detour via Tesco so we can have jacket potatoes for tea - I did not want to do anything complicated!

I want to watch football now but it's likely I may fall asleep, even though it look like a good game! Later I will try to catch up with comments - I know I'm behind!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.