a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Would Sir care for a little snackerel?

The Black Tailed Skimmer Scarce Chaser (thanks to JDO for picking up the original mis-identification on my part) eyed up the Weevil, who was blissfully unaware of the danger lurking nearby, and thought about whether or not he was hungry and, just as importantly, whether he could be bothered with Weevil. Hmm, Weevil, perhaps not this time, they weren't his favourite by any means.

Its like that moment in the Aliens films when the Alien suddenly appears behind the unsuspecting crewman with saliva dribbling from its terrible mouth .....

(The weevil isn't in focus, but to be honest I didn't actually see it when I took the shot of the dragonfly, it was only when I looked afterwards that I spotted it).

Cathy and I took a walk across the fields in the warm sunshine this afternoon to get a bit of exercise, and to visit the newly opened farm shop on the A4 near the village.  Its one of those trendy upmarket farm shops, completely unconnected with the actual neighbouring farms which sells produce for roughly 50% more than it costs in the nearby branch of Waitrose.  It all looked lovely, but I shan't be going shopping there at those prices.

They have a large restaurant/cafe attached, and we stopped for a cup of tea.  The tea was very nice, but it did take them over half an hour to take our order and then bring the tea.  We did get offered free cake in the end, I think even they realised that they might not have covered themselves in glory, but neither of us actually wanted cake, just a cup of tea. So, I can't see myself popping into the restaurant/cafe either!

I've just read this back and realise that I've somehow turned into a grumpy old man...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.