a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Glad Rags

This longhorn beetle seems to be dressed up for an afternoon of partying in the flowerbeds, the metallic green and gold contrasting strongly with the blue and pink of the geranium.  

You might assume when you look at this shot, that I have increased the colour saturation or contrast to produce this look.  But I haven't, not at all.  The colours and contrast are unaltered in post processing and the camera ICC settings and curve are the same one that I use for everything.

This wasn't the easiest shot to get, as its quite breezy here - as you can probably see in part from the bend in the flower's stem.  The beetle has opened its green carapace a little, probably in readiness to fly away from the irritating blipper with the camera who keeps inching closer and closer....

The forecast looks as though we are due to have dull showery and blowy weather now for most of the week ahead (well, it is the first week of Wimbledon, so its traditional).I shall have to get my thinking cap on if I am to avoid imposing a whole week of macro shots on you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.