JustSally

By JustSally

Polesden Lacey

I bought an embroidery kit in January thinking it would keep me occupied during lockdown, and while I haven’t been getting about much. Sadly I am not enjoying it. It was advertised as being for experienced needlewomen, and I thought I fitted into that category, but in fact I am finding it quite hard and I am not enjoying it. I am a bit of a perfectionist and I hate producing work that isn’t very good. So I am tending to put it to one side.
Totally different was this cross stitch picture of our nearby National Trust property, Polesden Lacey. I enjoy any form of counted thread work, and this was fun to do. I took a photo of the west front of Polesden and then copied it onto graph paper to produce a chart. I have embroidered several buildings like this, including my own home. For several years this picture hung in one of the bedrooms at the WI’s Denman College, but now that the college has closed, the picture has come back to me.
So now I have a decision to make. Do I persevere with a less than perfect embroidery, or abandon it and do something I enjoy?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.