An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Do you know what it is yet?

If yes, good.  Can you tell me? hahahahahaha!

I started this painting while we were on holiday and my vision for it was something completely different.  At some point my original plan deserted me went slightly askew, till I was left with a painting that I didn't really understand or know quite what to do with!  So I did what any sensible person would do and put it out of sight and out of mind.  Till yesterday.

It's painted on a watercolour block of paper and in order to use the next piece of paper, I had to remove this from the block.  It sat in the corner of my vision distracting me till I knew I couldn't move on to the next painting before putting this one to bed.

I chose three of my favourite colours and carried on, pretty aimless, layering paint and letting it dry then layering some more till eventually some form emerged and it reminded me of a wave.  So I darkened the shadows and splattered it with white gouache and hoped for the best.  

As I am using my blip journal to log my painting journey I am including it here.  

Happily I can report that despite it not ending up anything like my original vision (a turquoise background with bold, abstract flowers) and nothing like a real wave, I've had great fun finishing it (white splatters everywhere, including my hair!) and, surprisingly for me, I like it!  

Got cleaned up just in time to join an RPS Licentiate Advisory Day on Zoom.  Some great successful panels discussed and a number of potential panels.  Great to hear the feedback and feel I learned lots about getting a panel together.  I've been talking about getting a panel together for so long.  One of these days I will get my finger out and do it!

Blipping early for me, now dinner to prepare.  Back later for a catch up :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.