Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie meets Dougal!

Day 3 of the new regime… Yes! I did arm exercises (holding tins of beans - thanks JohnD), an eight minute fitness routine, and my HIIT stint on the bike. Boy! That knocks it out of me!! I did that first, then my fitness routine, but had to sit down half way due to fatigue/ light headedness/ laziness.

Actually, I went back to the bike for a second go later on. And when JR came home from her proper gym session, she was persuaded to have a go. And I realised that her ‘going like the clappers’ is faster, much faster, than mine. Still, it’s all relative. She’s probably the fittest pensioner around.

Then we took Archie down to meet wee Dougal. It was all a bit tense at first, for us, as he can be grumpy with puppies. He KNEW right away, that something was different… there was an INTERLOPER… He was reluctant to come in. But Dougal was still in his crate covered in a blanket - he’d been sleeping. Archie had a good sniff around him, then a wee growl slipped out. Mind you, there was an even wee-er growl from Dougal.

I held Dougal and Archie stuck his face right up on my knee to have a good look/sniff. Then JR held him while Dougal pranced around the floor with his toys. He’s a clever wee lad, and knows his name, comes when called and sits on command. Christine is delighted (Rufus, bless him, did NONE of those things). He kept throwing himself at the sofa, but can’t get up there yet. Archie just watched him and said nothing. All good. Now he knows Dougal’s there, we’ll pop down again soon.

We then walked on into town, stopping at Kauai for one of my free loyalty coffees. Our favourite waiter came to chat - he’d been on holiday - Route 500 up north. He loved it. He’s been made manager, and will not be moving to their new premises near the St James Quarter.

Town is MOBBED! It was so warm! Even the breeze across the Meadows was warm. It was about 19°, which is as hot as I like it.

I got the bus home, as I was puggled in the heat. And I caught a wee bit of the football, but soon dozed off.

Diet going well. I was NOT lured down to the Grassmarket for an ice cream. Nor yet did I have a Magnum when I came home, though JR did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.